ALASKA
You do not have to be a resident of Alaska to get married, and there is a three business day waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses. If an application is faxed or mailed in, it must be witnessed by a notary public.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 90 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Alaska.

Any priest, minister, recognized leader or rabbi of any recognized church may perform marriage ceremonies, as well as a marriage commissioner, a judicial officer of the state, or a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army.


CALIFORNIA
You do not have to be a resident of California to get married, but it’s highly recommended that you make an appointment with the clerk’s office to avoid long lines. There is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses and certified birth certificates. You will also be asked to provide your parents’ names, birthplaces, and mothers’ maiden names.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 90 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of California. However, domestic partnership certificates are available to same sex partners in San Francisco and Marin Counties. Check with your local courts for more information.

Any clergy, judge, justice, magistrate or marriage commissioner may perform ceremonies in California. A few counties will also allow friends or family members to perform civil ceremonies – check with your local court to confirm.


HAWAII
You do not have to be a resident of Hawaii to get married, and there is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties and should be in the form of drivers licenses and/or certified birth certificates, depending on your age.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 30 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Hawaii.

In Hawaii, marriage ceremonies must be performed by someone commissioned by the state of Hawaii to do so.


OREGON
You do not have to be a resident of Oregon to get married, and there is a three day waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 60 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Oregon, but same sex partners can register for domestic partnerships.

Any minister, pastor, priest, rabbi, judge, county clerk or justice of the peace may perform ceremonies, and two witnesses at least 18 years of age are required as well.


WASHINGTON
You do not have to be a resident of Washington to get married, and there is a three-day waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses and social security numbers.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 60 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Washington, but same sex partners can register for domestic partnerships.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and justices of the peace may perform ceremonies, and Washington state law requires two witnesses at the wedding ceremony.