CONNECTICUT
You do not have to be a resident of Connecticut to get married, but you will need to apply in either the town where one of you lives, or the town in which your ceremony will occur. Although there is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur, some towns will require you to pick up your license the day after application. The presence of both parties is not required at the time of application, and valid documentation should be in the form of social security numbers, drivers licenses or passports, date and location of your wedding, name and contact info for your wedding officiant, and your parents’ names and addresses, including both mothers’ maiden names.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 65 days. Common law marriages are not recognized in Connecticut. Connecticut legalized gay marriage in October 2008 and local authorities began issuing marriage licenses the following month. Check with your local court for more information.

Judges, justices of the peace, ordained or licensed clergymen from any state, and CT state referees may perform wedding ceremonies. Friends and relatives are allowed to perform ceremonies if an authorized officiant is also present and able to sign the license.


MAINE
You do not have to be a resident of Maine to get married, but residents will need to apply in the town in which one of them resides. There is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties. If over the age of 24, drivers licenses are the only requirement. If younger than 24, certified copies of birth certificates and social security numbers are also required.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 90 days. Common law marriages are not legal in the state of Maine. As of September 1, 2009, same sex marriage licenses should be available in Maine, barring any delays or referendums by opponents in legislation.

Any ordained clergymen who are licensed by the Secretary of State may perform ceremonies, as well as members of the Maine bar, and notaries public.


MASSACHUSETTS
You do not have to be a resident of Massachusetts to get married, but you will be asked where you live. There is a three day waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. This waiting period can be waived by a court order. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses, social security numbers and certified copies of birth certificates.

There are no specific proof of nullification requirements for previous marriages, but many counties may require a 90 day waiting period between marriages. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 60 days. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Massachusetts, but civil unions between same sex partners are legal, with specific guidelines. Check with your local court for more information.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen and justices of the peace may perform ceremonies in Massachusetts. Out-of-state clergy must obtain a Certificate of Authorization from the state before the ceremony. Friends and relatives may perform ceremonies after applying and paying for a special one-time authorization from the Governor to perform a marriage.


NEW HAMPSHIRE
You do not have to be a resident of New Hampshire to get married, but you will need to apply in either the town where one of you lives, or the town in which your ceremony will occur. There is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur in NH. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses, social security numbers, and – if under the age of 25 – certified copies of birth certificates.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 90 days. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of New Hampshire, but same sex marriage became legal in the state of New Hampshire on June 3, 2009. Same sex marriage licenses will be available as of January 1, 2010. Check with your local court for further details.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen, judges, or justices of the peace may perform wedding ceremonies in New Hampshire.


NEW YORK
You do not have to be a resident of New York to get married, and there is a 24-hour waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses, certified birth certificates.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 60 days. Common law marriages are not legal in the state of New York. On May 12, 2009, the New York Assembly passed a bill to legalize gay marriage, but it faces an uncertain future in the state Senate.

An authorized, officially ordained clergyman may perform ceremonies, as well as state public officials, justice or judge. In New York City, an officiant must be registered with the City of New York. Ship captains cannot perform marriage ceremonies in the state of New York. All marriage ceremonies must have at least one witness, preferably of the age of 18 or older.


RHODE ISLAND
You do not have to be a resident of Rhode Island to get married, although residents need to apply in the town of the bride’s residence. There is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses and social security numbers.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 90 days. Common law marriages are allowed, but same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Rhode Island.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen may perform ceremonies, as well as judges and clerks of court. Rhode Island does not allow justices of the peace to perform marriage ceremonies.


VERMONT
You do not have to be a resident of Vermont to get married, although residents need to apply in the town one of them resides in. There is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of drivers licenses or certified birth certificates. You will also be required to provide your mothers’ maiden names and the states in which all parents were born.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 60 days. Common law marriages are not allowed in the state of Vermont, but same sex marriages became legal in April of 2009. Vermont same sex marriage licenses will be available on September 1, 2009. Check with your local court for more information.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen may perform ceremonies, as well as any judge, supreme court justices, and justices of the peace. Non-resident clergy will need to apply for a permit in the county in which the ceremony will take place.