ILLINOIS
You do not have to be a resident of Illinois to get married, and there is a 24-hour waiting period before wedding ceremonies can occur. The presence of both parties is required at the time of application. A valid driver’s license, or certified copy of birth certificates AND valid passports must be provided by both parties.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate. Once issued, the marriage license is good for sixty days, and only in the county it was issued in. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not allowed in Illinois.

Ordained ministers, judges and certain public officials can perform marriage ceremonies.


INDIANA
Indiana residency requirements stipulate that a new couple must apply for their marriage license in the county in which one of them lives. Some counties require a certified copy of birth certificates for anyone under the age of 30. The presence of both parties is required at the time of application, a valid driver’s license showing current address and date of birth is also required.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required in some counties and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 60 days, and there is no waiting period before a ceremony can occur. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not recognized in the state of Indiana.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen may perform ceremonies, as well as judges, magistrates, and county clerks.


IOWA
You do not have to be a resident of Iowa to get married, and there is a three business day waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. The presence of at least one witness over the age of 18 is required at the time of application, and all documentation must be provided for both parties. A social security card and a valid driver’s license or valid passport are required.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required if the divorce occurred within 60 days of the application and should be in the form of a certified divorcee decree. Once issued, the marriage license is good for six months. Common law marriages are allowed in Iowa and same sex marriages became legal in April of 2009. Check with your local court for more information.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen, as well as justices of the peace, may perform wedding ceremonies.


MICHIGAN
You do not have to be a resident of Michigan to get married, but there is an additional $10 fee for non-residents. Residents need to apply in the county in which one of them lives. Non-residents need to apply in the county where their ceremony will occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of driver’s licenses, certified copies of birth certificates, and names and addresses of all parents, including mothers’ maiden names.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 30 days, and there is a three day waiting period before a ceremony can occur. Common law marriages after 1957 are not recognized by the state of Michigan, and same sex marriages are banned.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen, as well as judges, mayors and county clerks, may perform wedding ceremonies. Witnesses do not have to be 18 years or older, but they should understand what they are witnessing and be able to sign their legal signature.


MINNESOTA
You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota to get married, and there is a five day waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties at the time of application, and includes driver’s licenses and social security numbers.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. There is a significant fee decrease for those couples who can show proof of premarital education. Once issued, the marriage license is good for six months. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Minnesota.

Any licensed clergymen, judges, and clerks of court may perform wedding ceremonies. Two witnesses are required at the wedding ceremony, and they must be over the age of 16.


OHIO
You do not have to be a resident of Ohio to get married, but you must apply in the same county the ceremony will occur in. There is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties at the time of application, and should be in the form of government-issued IDs and social security numbers.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 60 days. Common law marriages after 1991 are not recognized by the state of Ohio, and same sex marriages are not legal.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen who have presented their ordination credentials to the county probate judge, and justices of the peace may perform wedding ceremonies.


WISCONSIN
Be sure to check ahead of time with the appropriate County Clerk office before applying for a marriage license in Wisconsin, as each county has different requirements. However, here are some general guidelines to follow if you will be marrying in Wisconsin:

One of you needs to have resided in the county you intend to wed in for at least 30 days prior to your application. There is a six day waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur, so it’s a good idea to get your license at least a week before the ceremony. Valid documentation must be provided for both parties, and should be in the form of driver’s licenses, two pieces of mail confirming address, social security numbers and certified copies of birth certificates. You must also provide parents’ names and addresses, including mothers’ maiden names, as well as the date and location of your ceremony and the name, address and phone number of the officiant.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorcee decrees or death certificates. New wedding licenses cannot be issued until at least 6 months after a divorce. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 30 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Winsconsin.

Any ordained clergymen, judge, court commissioner, or certain religious appointees may perform wedding ceremonies.