ARKANSAS
You do not have to be a resident of Arkansas to get married, and licenses can be used anywhere in the state. The presence of both parties is required at the time of application, and a valid driver’s license must be provided by both parties. Parties between the ages of 18 and 21 must provide state-certified copies of birth certificates, valid passports or military IDs.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required in the form of a divorce decree. There is no waiting period before marriage can occur. Once issued, the marriage license is good for sixty days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are banned in Arkansas.

Ministers must have their credentials recorded in one of Arkansas’ counties before they can perform marriage ceremonies. Witnesses are not required at Arkansas weddings.


KENTUCKY
You do not have to be a resident of Kentucky to get married, and there is no waiting period before the ceremony can occur. Documentation, in the form of driver’s licenses, certified birth certificates, and social security numbers must be provided by both parties at the time of application.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required in the form of certified divorce decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 30 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not allowed in Kentucky.

Any ordained or licensed clergyman who are licensed in the state of Kentucky to perform weddings, and justices of the peace, are allowed to perform services.


LOUISIANA
You do not have to be a resident of Louisiana to get married, and there is a 72 hour waiting period before the ceremony can occur. Waiting periods are waived in the the city of New Orleans for out-of-state residents only. Premarital counseling is a state requirement. Documentation, in the form of driver’s licenses, certified birth certificates, and social security numbers must be provided by both parties at the time of application.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and will need to be in the form of certified copies of divorce decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 30 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not allowed in Louisiana.

Any ordained or licensed clergyman, already registered with the state, and justices of the peace, are able to perform wedding ceremonies.


MISSISSIPPI
You do not have to be a resident of Mississippi to get married, and there is a 72 hour waiting period before wedding ceremonies can occur. Documentation, in the form of driver’s licenses, certified birth certificates, and social security numbers must be provided by both parties at the time of application. You will also need to provide your parents’ addresses and your mothers’ maiden names.

If a previous marriage existed, you will be required to sign an affidavit at the time of application, stating that your previous marriage was nullified. Once issued, the marriage license is valid indefinitely. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in Mississippi.

Judges, mayors, local board of supervisor members, and clergy are all allowed to perform wedding ceremonies in Mississippi.


MISSOURI
You do not have to be a resident of Missouri to get married, and there is no longer a waiting period before a marriage ceremony can occur. The presence of both parties is required at the time of application, and documentation must be provided for both parties. A social security card and a photo ID are required for each person.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and you may need to wait 30 days past that final decree before getting remarried. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 30 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not allowed in Missouri.

Any judge, ordained minister or marriage commissioner may perform ceremonies in the state of Missouri.


TENNESSEE
You do not have to be a resident of Tennessee to get married, and there is no waiting period before a wedding ceremony can occur. The presence of both parties is required at the time of application, and all documentation must be provided for both parties. A social security card and a valid driver’s license or valid passport are required.

Proof of nullification of previous marriages is required and should be in the form of certified divorce decrees or death certificates. Once issued, the marriage license is good for 30 days. Common law marriages and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Tennessee.

Any ordained or licensed clergymen may perform ceremonies, as well as justices of the peace, judges, county legislators, mayors and county clerks.